For all enquiries, please contact: +234 1 277 0560

Board members

Samuel Adegboyega
Non-Executive Chairman

Samuel has over 30 years experience in the oil and gas industry, and is currently Managing Director of SOWSCO Well Services (Nig.) Ltd., in Port Harcourt, Nigeria. Samuel is a member of the Board of Trustees Ile-Oluji Economic Summit Group, a traditional local community leadership organisation as well as being a founding member of S.T. Adegboyega & Co., a Nigerian law firm.

Samuel is a founding member and current Executive of the Petroleum Technology Association of Nigeria, an association formed to bring together Nigerian oil and gas enterpreneurs.  Samuel graduated from the University of Ibadan with a degree in Petroleum Engineering.

Olalekan Akinyanmi
Chief Executive Officer

Olalekan (“Lekan”) has over 20 years experience in the oil and gas industry, most recently with AllianceBernstein L.P. in New York where he spent six years as a research analyst and portfolio manager covering Energy and Materials worldwide.

Lekan has held senior positions at UBS Investment Research, 3Fold Ventures and Encabler Inc, a Californian headquartered technology company specialising in interactive television software, which he founded in June 2000, as well as successfully negotiating and raising the first round of equity capital for the Company’s operations.

Prior to founding Encabler Inc, Lekan worked as lead engineer for Schlumberger Limited, where he advanced High Pressure High Temperature wireline operations for Texaco’s North Sea oil prospects. Lekan’s work at Schlumberger took him to a number of different petroleum jurisdictions including Scotland, Oman, Pakistan, Egypt and Nigeria.

Lekan graduated from the Obafemi Awolowo University in Nigeria with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electronic and Electrical Engineering and also holds an MBA from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Sloan School of Management.  He is also a Member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Aisha Oyebode
Non-Executive Director

Mrs. Aisha Oyebode is the CEO of the Murtala Muhammed Foundation and Group Chief Executive Officer, Asset Management Group (AMG) Limited. Prior to becoming CEO, Aisha was the Executive Director of AMG from October 1991-June 1993. Aisha is a legal practitioner with an LL.M (Public International Law) from Kings College, University of London and a Masters in Business Administration (MBA) with a distinction in Finance from Imperial College, University of London.

Mrs. Oyebode has several years of practical experience in corporate and litigation matters having worked in the prestigious law firm of Ajumogobia, Okeke, Aluko and Oyebode. She was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1989. She has completed several attachments with global financial institutions which include Caisse Privée Banque, Brussels; Banque Rivaud, Paris; and Banque Privée, Geneva. Aisha also serves as a member of various boards.

Aisha is a member of the Remuneration Committee of LEKOIL.

Hezekiah Adesola Oyinlola
Non-Executive Director

Mr. H. Adesola (‘Sola) Oyinlola  brings a wealth of industry experience to the Board. He was most recently Chairman of Africa at Schlumberger and was also the President of the Schlumberger Foundation, a non-profit corporate foundation. Having worked with Schlumberger for 30 years, Sola has held a number of senior operational positions across the world, including Vice President and Global Treasurer, and Managing Director for Nigeria and West Africa.

Sola is a co-founder of the Petroleum Club of Lagos and serves on a number of boards including Guaranty Trust Bank plc and the Schlumberger Foundation. He has a passion for human capital and host community development, as evidenced by his participation in issues of economic development, inclusion, and mentoring. He holds a BSc in Accounting from the University of Ghana, and an MBA from Stanford University. He is an alumnus of the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies.

Sola is a member of the Audit Committee of LEKOIL.

Tom Schmitt
Non-Executive Director

Tom is president of Hunt Refining Company in Alabama. Prior to this, he was senior vice president with Hunt Oil Company for Hunt's development in Kurdistan, Iraq.  He began his career as a petroleum engineer with the Atlantic Richfield Corporation working in production, drilling, operations/reservoir engineering, enhanced oil recovery research, strategic planning and acquisition evaluation.  In 1996, he left the oil industry for a career in finance and joined Alliance-Bernstein, becoming co-manager of the Global Research Growth Fund, a product that grew assets to over $65 billion.  Tom earned a BS in chemical engineering from Missouri University of Science and Technology and an MBA from the Harvard Business School.

The Rt. Hon. Mark Simmonds
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Simmonds, aged 55, was the Foreign & Commonwealth Office Minister with responsibilities for Africa, the Caribbean, UK Overseas Territories, International Energy and Conflict Prevention. He served as a Member of the UK Parliament for fourteen (14) years and was also a senior advisor to the then Prime Minister, David Cameron. He focused on driving and facilitating inward investment into Africa and the Commonwealth across a range of key economic sectors including Hydrocarbons, Financial Services, Healthcare, Infrastructure, Energy & Agriculture. 

Mr. Simmonds has a deep knowledge of the economic and political composition of African Governments, countries and regions and has chaired the UN Security Council on two occasions. He is Chairman of Africa Oil Week, "The Davos of Africa's Hydrocarbon Industry" the link between African Governments and the Private Sector and chairs the African Oil Week Advisory Board. He is additionally involved in clean technology for the Hydrocarbon Sector. He has several other international roles which include being a senior advisor to Kroll, chairman of the Advisory Board of the global investment platform, Invest Africa, senior adviser to a Global Multi-Strategy Hedge Fund, senior adviser to a large UK based Family Office, Chairman of GIG Technology and an Advisory Board Member of the Commonwealth Investment Council. He also has roles with not for profit organisations, including as Honorary Vice President of Flora & Fauna International. He is a Trustee of the British Institute in East Africa, a Board Member of Engender Health and of a member of Her Majesty's Privy Council.

Tony Hawkins
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Hawkins, aged 48, is an English and Australian qualified lawyer of twenty (20) years' experience, who has worked in both private practice and corporate roles. He is a senior energy lawyer, asset manager and commercial negotiator, predominately in oil and gas but also in power, LNG and renewables. Mr. Hawkins is currently the Chief Executive Officer at Columbus Energy Resources plc as well as owning a consultancy firm. Previously, he was Legal and M&A Director at Columbus Energy Resources plc which followed his role as General Counsel & Head of Commercial for Sterling Energy plc, a London listed oil & gas company. Prior to Sterling Energy, Tony spent six (6) years at Centrica plc (a FTSE 100 listed utility), where he had several roles, including interim General Counsel for Centrica Energy. Prior to that, he worked for ten (10) years in private practice in Australia and the UK, most recently with Dewey LeBoeuf in London. 

Mr. Hawkins is a member of the Association of International Petroleum Negotiators and was previously a member of the legal committee of Oil & Gas UK where he was instrumental in helping to develop the standard DES LNG Master Sale Agreement for the European Federation of Energy Traders.